top of page

Summer Around Colorado (Top 10 Adventures)

Today, I move back to Boulder to begin my sophomore year of college, but much of my summer was spent around my hometown of Evergreen, Colorado. Now, if you have been following my blog for a while, you would know that I am not usually in Colorado over the summer. But, since I am this year, I took it upon myself to become a tourist in my own town, and what fun it was! With my family and friends by my side, I explored all there is in the surrounding areas, and I want to share some of my favorites with you.

First, Lookout Mountain (1.5 hour drive to complete the loop). To kick off summer and new memories with old high school friends, a group of us headed to Lookout Mountain, stopping at the Buffalo Bill Park along the way. Eventually, we pulled off the road towards the top of the mountain and began to walk, hiking up to the highest point that we could find to watch the sunset. It was definitely an interesting experience trying to find our way back to our car, and in the dark, nonetheless. When we reached the car, we continued to descend the mountain, finally making our way to Golden, where we stopped for ICEEs and doughnuts before heading home.

Second, Golden Gate Canyon State Park (35 minute drive). For my second adventure of the summer, my best friend and I drove out to Golden Gate to hike. Upon arrival, we claimed our day pass at the visitor center and made our way to the Coyote Trailhead, where we began our two mile hike from Bootleg Bottom to Frazer Meadow. The trail was classified as most difficult, likely because of the sections of steep gains and the stretch of strenuous climbing, where the trail turns to slick rock. Our hike began at the Bootlegger Cabin, where bootleggers from the 1920s stored their whiskey during the Prohibition; it was relatively remote location for the gangsters to hang out. Making our way up the trail, we stopped at the Promontory Ridge, where we viewed the mountains from the rock outcroppings. In the final stretch, the trail widens and opens up to reveal a beautiful aspen grove called Frazer Meadow. We stopped to grab a quick snack from our packs before hiking the two miles back to the car. As another recommendation for Golden Gate Canyon State Park, Andy and I have previously hiked Raccoon Trail at Panorama Point, which was equally as fun.

Third, Elk Meadow (5-10 minute drive). It was a foggy day in Evergreen, but Andy and I set out to take some mysterious photos. We headed to Elk Meadow, where we tried to find the abandoned barns along Bergen Peak Trail. Needless to say, the fog was to thick to see farther than 100 feet in front of us, and without any indication of where the barns could be in the large, open field, we were completely unsuccessful in our search. However, we wandered around Elk Meadow trying, and got some good pictures, regardless... A for effort, right?

Fourth, Gray's Peak (45 minute - 1 hour drive). Wow! That was an early morning. For those of you who don't know, Gray's Peak is 14,278 feet above sea level; it is one of Colorado's many fourteeners, but it was the first fourteener I have climbed! It is an eight mile, out & back trail near Bakerville. From the trailhead to the summit, there is an elevation gain of nearly 3,700 feet. In order to descend the mountain before the afternoon thunderstorms, it was almost necessary to wake up at 4 o'clock in the morning. Our group packed our bags, dressed for the cold air, and ate breakfast before leaving Evergreen; we arrived at Gray's Peak Trailhead around 5:30am, which was just in time for the sunrise. We immediately began our ascent to the summit, occasionally stopping along the way to change clothing, apply sunscreen, take pictures, and stay energized and hydrated. It took 3 hours and 45 minutes to reach the summit, where we had to decide whether or not to take the saddle over to Torrey's Peak or descend the mountain. We could see that the clouds were already forming, and we definitely did not want to be stuck at the top of the mountain during thunderstorms, so we began our descent, which only took about two hours, but I sure felt the pain in my knees. Lucky us, we left the mountain in perfect timing, as it began to rain as soon as we got to our car. Overall, it was an incredible experience, but the strangest part was the time warp in my mind; after hiking for hours, I felt like the day was nearly over, but arrived back at the car around 11:30am. Our group went out to breakfast to celebrate our accomplishments, but as soon as I got home, I couldn't help but take a nap after such a long, early morning.

Fifth, Belmar (25 minute drive). The Belmar District of Lakewood has plenty to offer. My friend, Adam, and I walked around the town to several shops and grabbed gelato at our favorite place, Paciugo Gelato & Caffe. The shop was decorated for Christmas in July, which put us in the perfect mood for a fun filled afternoon around town.

Sixth, Evergreen Lake (5-10 minute drive). Evergreen Lake has always been a beautiful place that's full of fun! As a kid, I would always go to the Wednesday Lake Concerts, walk around the lake, and occasionally rent the pedal boats. However, it has been a long time since I spent time at the lake. I drive around it nearly everyday, but I never bothered to stop until recently. My friends and I met at the lake and rented stand-up paddle boards for an hour. It was so fun to see Evergreen Lake from a different perspective, a way that many tourists from Denver have viewed it on a weekly basis.

Seventh, Squaw Pass at Sunset (about 30 minutes up part of Squaw Pass). For a little sunset adventure, our friends drove to a section of Squaw Pass where we could see the sunset the best. We took pictures, talked, and penny boarded until the sunset faded away. Then, we proceeded to the next point on Lookout Mountain, where we climbed up a rock outcropping for a view of Mount Evans. When it got to be too dark, we headed back to the car to make our way home, but the views were incredible and so was the company!

Eighth, Mount Evans and Echo Lake at Sunrise (45 minute - 1 hour drive). Mount Evans is another one of Colorado's famous fourteeners, but it is the only peak that has road access to the summit. The road to Mount Evans is off of Squaw Pass, the location of my last adventure. Yet, this time my brother and I drove all the way to the summit, viewing the sunrise from the top around 6am. We walked around the observatory and took a short hike from the parking lot to the highest point of the mountain. When we got tired of standing in the cold and wind, we drove back down the mountain, stopping at the Summit Lake on Mount Evans Road, then Echo Lake off of Squaw Pass.

Ninth, San Isabel National Forest (2 hour drive). Recently, several of my family members moved to Leadville, so my brother and I drove up to visit one cousin in particular. Upon arriving in Leadville, he took us off roading near Clear Creek Reservoir in the San Isabel National Forest, between Leadville and Buena Vista. After a certain point, we go out of the truck and hiked to the end of the road, where a trail began. We hiked along the trail for a few miles, crossing creeks and strolling along the main river-way. It was an incredibly beautiful place; I couldn't believe the mountain views.

Tenth, Red Rocks (20 minutes). Unfortunately, I did not get a chance to see a concert this summer at Red Rocks. However, I did drive around the park scouting locations for future photoshoots and taking a couple of short hikes while I was there. It is such an interesting place, in that the colors and rock formations are naturally phenomenal. If you have never been, it is definitley worth checking out - whether you go to workout, watch a Film on the Rocks, listen to music and visit the Music Hall of Fame, or hike along the trials surrounding the amphitheater.

bottom of page